Florida Department of Environmental Protection Florida Department of Environmental Protection
* DEP Home * About DEP * Programs * Contact * Site Map * Search
Corner of tabAssessment and Restoration Support

Alternate Surface Water Quality Standards
Site Specific Alternative Criteria

Site specific criteria replace the criteria applicable statewide in cases where site specific information supports different numeric criteria.  Any SSAC must fully support and protect the designated use of the waterbody.  SSACs fall into two types: Type I and Type II.  Type I SSACs (Rule 62-302.800(1), FAC) are established to reflect natural background conditions, such as lower dissolved oxygen levels than the statewide default criteria.  Type II SSACs (Rule 62-302.800(2), FAC) are established for situations other than natural background conditions.  Both types of SSACs must still fully protect the designated use of the water body.  Examples of site specific criteria include the Everglades phosphorus criterion (Rule 62-302.540, Florida Administrative Code) and the Site Specific Alternative Criteria described in Rule 62-302.800, FAC.

Frequently Asked Questions

Waters with Site Specific Alternative Criteria

SSACs Under Development or Pending Final Approval

Pace Swamp Site Specific Alternative Criteria (SSAC) for pH

Water Quality Standards Variances

New! Charlotte Harbor Water Association (variance for acute toxicity)

Premier Chemicals (variance for acute toxicity)

City of Vero Beach Reverse Osmosis (variance for acute toxicity)

Everglades Protection Area Dissolved Oxygen Site Specific Alternative Criteria Development

Public Workshop

Technical Support Documents

Water Quality Standards Program
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
2600 Blair Stone Road - M.S. 6511
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Contact Us

Last updated: August 06, 2014

  2600 Blair Stone Road M.S. 3500   Tallahassee, Florida 32399   850-245-8336 (phone) / 850-245-8356 (fax) 
DEP Home | About DEP  | Contact Us | Search |  Site Map