Florida Department of Environmental Protection Florida Department of Environmental Protection
 
* DEP Home * About DEP * Programs * Contact * Site Map * Search
MyFlorida.com  
Mining, Mitigation and Delineation - Oil and Gas Quick Links

Minimum Steps to Acquire an Oil & Gas Permit in Florida

For Drilling

For Geophysical

What next?


Drilling

  • Obtain the right to develop at least one mineral interest within the proposed drilling unit
  • Arrange a preliminary site inspection with an Oil & Gas Section field office (South west Florida: (239)338-2362, Northwest Florida:(850) 675-6558.
  • Submit an Application Packet to Tallahassee Office of the Oil & Gas Section:
    • $2000 Application Fee
    • Form 3, Drilling Application
    • Form1, Organization Report
    • Performance Security (Bond, Letter of Credit, Trust Fund payment, or other acceptable form of financial surety)
    • Location Plat based on well location survey.
    • Site construction plans
    • Casing and Cementing programs
    • H2S Contingency plan if applicable

Geophysical

Submit an Application Packet to Tallahassee office of the Oil & Gas Section:
  • $500 Application Fee
  • Form 4, Geophysical Exploration Application
  • Form 1, Organization Report
  • 15 copies of Detailed Plat Map showing location of lines along which geophysical operations are to be conducted.
  • 15 copies of Generalized Plat Map showing general vicinity of the geophysical program.
  • 8 copies of complete, detailed operational plans for all work to be performed, including personnel, equipment, energy sources, use of explosives, restoration activities, etc.
  • A statement agreeing to obtain written approval from the Division of State Lands prior to conducting field operations on state lands.
  • Bond of other approved security

What Next?

  • Applicants will be notified within 30 days if more information is needed to complete the application.
  • Once complete, Florida Statutes require that applications be approved or denied within 90 days . Actual processing times for complete applications are usually 30 to 60 days.
  • Permits are valid for 1 year and can be extended for an additonal year if necessary.
  • Confidential information will be protected 1 year for drilling and 10 years for drilling and 10 years for geophysical permits.
  • Additional federal, state, and local permitting may be necessary.

 

For additional information call any of the Oil & Gas Section offices:

  • (850)488-8217---Main office in Tallahassee
  • (239)338-2362---Fort Myers Field Office
  • (850)675-6558---Jay Field Office

For more detailed information, call any of our offices to order a free Prospector Package which includes:

  • Forms, Rules, Statutes, Surety Fee Schedules, detailed permitting procedures, etc.

Oil and Gas Related Pages

Last updated: August 08, 2013

  2600 Blair Stone Road M.S. 3500   Tallahassee, Florida 32399   850-245-8336 (phone) / 850-245-8356 (fax) 
DEP Home | About DEP  | Contact Us | Search |  Site Map