Proposed Rule Development for the
Water Well Contractor Licensing
Rule, Chapter 62-531, F.A.C.
The Department is revising Florida’s Water Well Contractor Licensing
rule. The proposed rule revision will consist of the following:
Chapter 62-531, F.A.C., will be amended to adopt by reference The
Water Well Contractor Disciplinary Guidelines and Procedure Manual and
the Florida Unified Citations Dictionary For Water Well Constructors to
meet the statutory obligation of informing the public of likely
disciplinary action for violations of water well contractor licensing,
permitting and construction requirements. The requirements for water
well contractor licensure will be updated to reflect recent statutory
changes. Add an administrative fine up to $5,000 per occurrence for any
person found to be practicing water well contracting without a valid
Florida water well contractor license. Increase the maximum
administrative fine for any licensed water well contractor found in
violation of the water well rules or the statute from $1000 to $5,000.
Change the license renewal time period for accrual of CEUs from 24
months to 30 months prior to the license renewal deadline.
A Notice of Rule Development for the proposed amendment to Chapter
62-531, F.A.C., is scheduled for publication in the Florida
Administrative Weekly (FAW) on Nov 13, 2009.
A Rule Development Workshop was held December 3, 2009 in
Download (All files are in Adobe PDF format and open in a new
For more information, to be added to a mailing list for rulemaking
information or to submit written comments on the rule, please contact:
David C. James, PG (David.James@dep.state.fl.us)
Ground Water Regulatory Section
Well Construction Program
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
2600 Blair Stone Road, MS# 3580
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2400
Visit the ground water webpage for general information about ground