* DEP Home * About DEP * Programs * Contact * Site Map * Search *

Resources for

 newsletter sign up button

Unless indicated, documents on this Web site are Adobe Acrobat files, and require the free reader software.

Get Adobe Reader Icon


Florida has a right to know button

Report Waste, Fraud and Abuse button


corner of content windowHurricane Frances News

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 8, 2004
CONTACT: Linda Long, (850) 245-2112

DEP Amends Emergency Order for Hurricane Frances

--Authorization enables expedited restoration of essential services--

TALLAHASSEE – Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) Secretary Colleen M. Castille today amended an Emergency Final Order in response to Hurricane Frances, adding the counties of Citrus, Hernando, Lake, Manatee, Marion, Orange, Pasco, Seminole and Volusia. The Order provides relief from the Department’s regulatory requirements to protect public health, minimize environmental hazards and accelerate restoration in areas damaged by the storm.

“This emergency authorization allows repair and restoration to begin immediately in the affected areas, bringing faster relief to the victims of Hurricane Frances,” said DEP Secretary Castille. “Issuing this Order reduces regulatory process and provides flexibility for restoring services quickly in this time of critical need.”

The 60-day emergency authorization applies to governments, businesses and property owners across impacted counties, allowing immediate rebuilding of damaged structures without prior Department notification. The Order will expedite the repair of damage to drinking water and wastewater facilities, along with cleanup of hurricane-generated debris and the restoration of natural areas such as dune systems, waterways and wetlands.

Field authorizations will be required to replace destroyed structures; alter mangroves; restore uplands, wetlands and submerged lands unless a local, regional or State government; and for other DEP-authorized activities not specified in the Order.

The emergency authorization now covers hurricane recovery activities across 22 counties- Brevard, Broward, Citrus, Glades, Hardee, Hernando, Highlands, Indian River, Lake, Manatee, Marion, Martin, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, St. Lucie, Seminole and Volusia counties. All activities authorized under the Order must begin before November 2 unless otherwise provided in a field authorization. Extensions may be granted if contractors or supplies are not available.

On August 14, Secretary Castille issued a similar emergency authorization for recovery activities associated with Hurricane Charley. This remains in effect for 15 counties until October 19, 2004. To view the Emergency Final Orders, visit www.floridadep.org


Last updated: July 08, 2005

   3900 Commonwealth Boulevard M.S. 49   Tallahassee, Florida 32399 | 850-245-2118 (phone) / 850-245-2128 (fax)  
DEP Home | About DEP  | Contact Us | Search |  Site Map