* DEP Home * About DEP * Programs * Contact * Site Map * Search *

Resources for

 newsletter sign up button

Unless indicated, documents on this Web site are Adobe Acrobat files, and require the free reader software.

Get Adobe Reader Icon


Florida has a right to know button

Report Waste, Fraud and Abuse button


Commission on Oil Spill Response Coordination

The Commission on Oil Spill Response was established through Senate Bill 2156 during the 2011 Legislative Session, and was sponsored by Senator Don Gaetz. The bill specifies the composition of the commission, and charges them to prepare a report to identify potential changes to state and federal laws and regulations which will improve response capabilities and processes and protect Florida’s people and resources. The report is due to the Governor and Legislature by January 1, 2013.

Citizens can join the mailing list for the Commission by sending an email to floilspillcommission@tetratech.com, with a request to be added.

Commission Members

Name Representing Role on Commission
George Gainer Bay County Commissioners Chairman
Dave Parisot Okaloosa County Commissioner Vice-Chair
Grover Robinson Escambia County Commissioner  
Joseph Parrish Franklin County Commissioner  
Donald Butler Gulf County Commissioner  
Lane Lynchard Santa Rosa County Commissioner  
Jerry Moore Wakulla County Commissioner  
Bill Imfeld Walton County Commissioner  
Tami Torres Florida Department of Financial Services  
Leslie Palmer Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services  
Jennifer Fitzwater Executive Office of the Governor  
Richard Knudsen Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission  
Dr. Kendra Goff Florida Department of Health  
Danny Kilcollins Florida Division of Emergency Management  
Tom Beck Florida Department of Economic Opportunity  
Russell Kent Florida Office of the Attorney General  

Meeting Information

Date Location Time (Central)
Wednesday, August 22 Emerald Coast Convention Center 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, September 12 Emerald Coast Convention Center 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, October 3 South Annex Branch Office 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Monday, October 29 South Annex Branch Office 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Monday, November 26 Emerald Coast Convention Center 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Friday, December 7 South Annex Branch Office 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Monday, December 17 South Annex Branch Office 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

*Meeting dates, times & locations are tentative and subject to change; please check back for updates.


Walton County - South Annex Branch Office 
31 Coastal Centre Blvd. 
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459

Emerald Coast Convention Center
1250 Miracle Strip Parkway
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548


Meeting Materials



Commission Reports


Meeting Inquires

Commissioner Gainer has asked that media inquires be directed to Valerie Sale; please find her contact information below.

Valerie Sale
Bay County Public Information Officer
(850) 248-8170
Cell: (850) 814-6122



Important Phone Numbers

  • Claims
    (800) 916-4893
  • Report Oil
    (800) 320-0519
  • Environment/Community Hotline
    (866) 448-5816

  • Deepwater Horizon Incident Joint Information Center
    (713) 323-1670
  • DEP Press Office
    (850) 245-2112
  • News Archive

Last updated: January 15, 2013

   3900 Commonwealth Boulevard M.S. 49   Tallahassee, Florida 32399 | 850-245-2118 (phone) / 850-245-2128 (fax)  
DEP Home | About DEP  | Contact Us | Search |  Site Map