Florida Department of Environmental Protection Florida Department of Environmental Protection
 
* DEP Home * About DEP * Programs * Contact * Site Map * Search
MyFlorida.com  
Rookery Bay Research Reserve Events Quick Topics

Guided Kayak Tours

Location

Rookery Bay Environmental Learning Center
300 Tower Road
Naples, FL 34113
(239) 530-5940 

Driving Directions

From Environmental Learning Center, go south on Collier Blvd two miles. Turn right on Shell Island Road (look for brown Field Station sign). Proceed down bumpy, winding road until the end at the Shell Island Road Boat Launch.

Dates and Times

    December 2014

  • Tue, Dec 9, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Wed, Dec 10, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Thu, Dec 11, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Fri, Dec 12, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Tue, Dec 16, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Wed, Dec 17, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Thu, Dec 18, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Fri, Dec 19, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Tue, Dec 23, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Fri, Dec 26, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Tue, Dec 30, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Wed, Dec 31, 9:30 - 11:30 am

    January 2015

  • Fri, Jan 2, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Wed, Jan 7, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Thu, Jan 8, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Fri, Jan 9, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Tue, Jan 13, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Wed, Jan 14, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Thu, Jan 15, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Fri, Jan 16, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Tue, Jan 20, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Wed, Jan 21, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Thu, Jan 22, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Fri, Jan 23, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Tue, Jan 27, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Wed, Jan 28, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Thu, Jan 29, 9:30 - 11:30 am
  • Fri, Jan 30, 9:30 - 11:30 am

Description

Two-hour guided kayak tours of Rookery Bay and its surroundings provide an up-close and personal experience of this irreplaceable national treasure. Paddle lazily through the shallows and maze-like mangrove tunnels while learning about your surroundings from an experienced guide and naturalist. November through April, kayak trips will run from 9:30 to 11:30 a.m., Tuesday through Friday. The cost is $45 for Friends of Rookery Bay members and $55 for non-members and includes: kayak, all equipment, paddling instruction and admission to the Rookery Bay Environmental Learning Center on the day of the tour. Paddlers must be 12 years of age or older, and weigh less than 250 pounds. Advanced registration is required.

Important Notes for Trip Participants:

  • Registration is required. No refunds for cancellations.
  • Cost is $55 ($45 for members) and includes a kayak, all equipment, paddling instruction and admission to the Rookery Bay Environmental Learning Center.
  • Paddlers must be 12 or older.
  • Weight limit: 250 pounds.
  • Wear closed-toed shoes and clothes that you do not mind getting wet.
  • Bring a hat, sunglasses, sun block, and a water bottle.
  • Leave all electronic equipment locked in your car as you will get wet.
  • In the event of severely inclement weather, your trip leader will contact you on the morning of the trip at the phone number you provide when registering.
  • Meet at launch site 30 minutes prior to scheduled start time.

Rookery Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve

Core Programs

 

Visit Us / Get Involved

 

About RBNERR

 

 

Last updated: November 26, 2014

  3900 Commonwealth Boulevard M.S. 235 Tallahassee, Florida 32399 850-245-2094
Contact Us 
DEP Home | About DEP  | Contact Us | Search |  Site Map