* DEP Home * About DEP * Programs * Contact * Site Map * Search *
Description of Pinellas County Aquatic Preserves Quick Topics

The Boca Ciega Bay and Pinellas County aquatic preserves (referred to collectively as the Pinellas County aquatic preserves) were designated in 1968 and 1972, respectively. Boca Ciega Bay was designated as an aquatic preserve to aid in halting the wholesale dredging and filling of the bay which occurred with the finger fill developments of the 1950s. Pinellas County Aquatic Preserve was designated to help prevent the events in Boca Ciega Bay from being repeated elsewhere.

Due to the broad expanse of the preserves, almost all habitats and levels of impact can be seen. These preserves include the nearly pristine waters offshore of Palm Harbor as well as the heavily impacted waters of Boca Ciega Bay. There are unspoiled mangrove islands as well as miles of canals bounded by seawalls. These preserves include the western portion of Tampa Bay (including Safety Harbor and Old Tampa Bay), Clearwater Bay, St. Joseph Sound, oceanic waters westward to the county line, as well as certain fresh waters such as Lake Tarpon and portions of Lake Seminole.

Bridge at sunset

Like Tampa Bay Aquatic Preserves on Facebook!


Last updated: October 31, 2016

  3900 Commonwealth Boulevard M.S. 235 Tallahassee, Florida 32399 850-245-2094
Contact Us 
DEP Home | About DEP  | Contact Us | Search |  Site Map